Book Review: Project Semicolon by Amy Bleuel

January 18, 2018 Book Reviews 2

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Book Review: Project Semicolon by Amy BleuelProject Semicolon by Amy Bleuel
Published by HarperCollins on September 5th 2017
Genres: Health & Healing, Non-Fiction
Pages: 352
Source: Library
Goodreads
 Stars

For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If You Feel Too Much, this collection from suicide-awareness organization Project Semicolon features stories and photos from those struggling with mental illness.

Project Semicolon began in 2013 to spread a message of hope: No one struggling with a mental illness is alone; you, too, can survive and live a life filled with joy and love. In support of the project and its message, thousands of people all over the world have gotten semicolon tattoos and shared photos of them, often alongside stories of hardship, growth, and rebirth.

Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over reveals dozens of new portraits and stories from people of all ages talking about what they have endured and what they want for their futures. This represents a new step in the movement and a new awareness around those who struggle with mental illness and those who support them. At once heartfelt, unflinchingly honest, and eternally hopeful, this collection tells a story of choice: every day you choose to live and let your story continue on.

Learn more about the project at www.projectsemicolon.com.

Reading Challenges: Library Love

 

Oh dear… I was so excited when I found this book. Then I started reading.

Ok, first of all, the main point of the book is extraordinary. It is so wonderful that all of these people have decided to continue living their lives for various reasons. This is a lengthy book and seeing the tattoos and reading about the turn arounds that some had was wonderful.

But…

Being a depressive person, this hit me hard. Amy Bleuel does have a short blurb about how this book and these stories can trigger depression. Oh boy can they. The problem, I think, is that the stories explain how the people got to the point of suicide but they are each just a page long. While I was extremely happy for all of these people, at the same time I felt torn down.

Again, the stories are phenomenal, but in some way how they are introduced, without any real ongoing example of how great their life may be now, made me depressed. The further I read, the more I wanted to set the book down. Being an already depressive person I knew that I could not continue reading. I’m not sure what more I needed, some type of positivity other than just talking about suicide, to help those that read want to stick around!

So, this is a DNF for various and obvious reasons. Definitely a trigger. I am glad that I picked it up, but I am happier that I put it down before it threw me too much.

 

 

 

 

After overcoming many obstacles in her life including bullying, rejection, suicide, self-injury, addiction, abuse and even rape, Amy has found strength and a love for others. Amy struggled with mental illness for 20+ years and has experienced many stigmas associated with it. She now shares her stories around the nation giving hope to others struggling with mental illness.

“Despite the wounds of a dark past I was able to rise from the ashes, proving that the best is yet to come. When my life was filled with the pain of rejection, bullying, suicide, self-injury, addiction, abuse and even rape, I kept on fighting. I didn’t have a lot of people in my corner, but the ones I did have kept me going. In my 20 years of personally struggling with mental health I experienced many stigmas associated with it. Through the pain came inspiration and a deeper love for others. God wants us to love one another despite the label we wear. I do pray my story inspires others. Please remember there is hope for a better tomorrow.”

If you need help right now, please call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-TALK (8255) or contact the Crisis Text Line by texting TALK to 741-741.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

 Stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

2 Responses to “Book Review: Project Semicolon by Amy Bleuel”

  1. Barb (boxermommyreads)

    Sounds like you may have gotten out of this one just in time. While the book may be good and this topic needs to be brought to light, I read for enjoyment for the most part and don’t need something to bring me down. If I want that, I can often just watch the news.

    • Christina

      I know! It’s so awful out there in the real world. My daughter and I both have depression and anxiety so a lot of the stories hit home, but boy… trigger warnings!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge